News


ENPRO once more at the PAAT meeting | 10.11.2015
This year presented the initiative ENPRO a large proportion of the scientific program of the Annual Meeting of ProcessNet Section "Process, Apartus- and Plant Engineering (PAAT)" on 16 and 17 November 2015 Bruchsal. Prof. Kockmann gave on Tuesday, 11/17/2015, an overview of the ENPRO idea and subsequently showed the individual projects their current results.
weiterlesen

1st ENPRO day was a great success | 29.06.2015
On the 24.06.2015, over 50 experts from the ENPRO initiative met at DECHEMA in Frankfurt am Main, Germany, to discuss the latest results. A World Café was held during this meeting, debating the current developments and developing ideas for the further progress.
weiterlesen

Kick-Off Meeting ENPRO | 02.10.2014
At the start of the ENPRO-Initiative, Projektträger Jülich invited all participants to hold a kick off meeting and to get to know one another.
weiterlesen

SMekT

 

Smart Miniplants for the Development of Efficient and Continous Separation Processes

 

Continuous production of bulk chemicals is state of the art, offering multiple advantages related to the efficient utilization of energy in the process, a constant product quality, and safe handling of hazardous components or processes. Thus, continuous production of fine chemicals and pharmaceuticals is of growing interest due to rapidly growing markets, limited resources, and ambitious climate targets.

The project ENPRO ‘SMekT’ (Smart Miniplants for Efficient Continuous Separation Processes) aims at utilizing the potential of continuous production for specialties manufacture. Furthermore, a project’s goal is to significantly accelerate the realization of new production concepts. Therefore, flexible small-scale equipment will be designed, allowing for developing continuous processes on lab-scale. By choosing this miniaturized scale, the demand for energy and raw materials is low during development phase. Additionally, the effort for engineering, construction, and start-up of the plant is significantly reduced compared to pilot and production environment.

Fine chemicals and pharmaceuticals products usually have high melting and boiling temperatures and low thermal stability compared to typical bulk chemicals. The SMekT project is therefore focused on developing equipment for continuous crystallization processes from solution, which is a thermal separation process being operated at mild conditions. Moreover, the process steps of continuous solid/liquid separation and continuous washing of crystals are represented in the project. The lab-scale plant will be equipped with typical materials of production-scale apparatuses, non-invasive sensor technology and modern process automation. Supported by simulation and benchmarking tools for the consumption of energy and resources, a direct scalability of results from lab- to production-scale is aimed to.

 

Members of the SMeKt Team

1409_Foto Projektgruppe SMekT

Back row: Ms. Löbnitz (KIT), Prof. Zang (HiTec Zang), Dr. Handl (DECHEMA)
Midlle row: Dr. Kusserow (HiTec Zang), Mr. Stier (Evonik), Prof. Kockmann (TU Dortmund), Mr. Hohmann (TU Dortmund)
Front row: Mr. Wiese (SONOTEC), Dr. Stenger (Evonik), Prof. Nirschl (KIT)

 

Project Start         1st January 2014

Run time               36 Months

News


ENPRO - Vortrag ausgezeichnet | 17.03.2017
Der Konferenzbeitrag „Suspension Flow Characteristics, Solid Phase Axial Dispersion and Product Size Distribution in a Continuous Tubular Crystallizer“ wurde auf dem „ProcessNet Jahrestreffen – Mechanische Flüssigkeitsabtrennung und Kristallisation 2017“ mit dem diesjährigen Vortragspreis ausgezeichnet.
weiterlesen

ENPRO - Datenintegration White Paper vorgesteltt | 10.02.2016
Das ENPRO-Verbundprojekt Datenintegration hat am 10.02.2016 ihr White-Paper zu Anwendungsszenarien und Modellierungsanforderungen vorgestellt.
weiterlesen

ENPRO abermals auf der PAAT | 10.11.2015
Auch dieses Jahr stellte die ENPRO Initiative einen großen Anteil am wissenschaftlichen Programm des Jahrestreffens der ProcessNet-Fachgruppe "Prozess-, Apparte- und Anlagentechnik (PAAT)" am 16. und 17.11.2015 in Bruchsal. Prof. Kockmann gab am Dienstag, den 17.11. einen Überblick über die ENPRO Idee und im Anschluss zeigen die einzelnen Projekte ihre aktuellen Ergebnisse.
weiterlesen

SMekT

 

Smart Miniplants zur Entwicklung effizienter, kontinuierlicher Trennverfahren

 

Kontinuierlich betriebene Produktionsanlagen gehören im Bereich der Massenchemikalien zum Stand der Technik und bieten zahlreiche Vorteile in Bezug auf effiziente Nutzung von Energie im Prozess, konstant hohe Produktqualität und die sichere Handhabung von Stoffen und Prozessschritten mit hohem Gefährdungspotenzial. Aufgrund schnell wachsende Märkte, knapper werdende Ressourcen und ambitionierte Umweltziele wird die kontinuierliche Betriebsweise zunehmend auch für die Produktion von Feinchemikalien und pharmazeutische Produkte interessant.

Ziel des Verbundprojektes ENPRO „SMekT“ (Smart Miniplants für effiziente kontinuierliche Trennverfahren) ist es, das Potenzial der kontinuierlichen Produktionsweise für die Herstellung von Spezialprodukten nutzbar zu machen und neue Produktionskonzepte deutlich schneller als bislang realisieren zu können. Dafür werden flexible, kleinskalige Apparate entwickelt, mit denen kontinuierliche Prozesse im Labormaßstab entwickelt werden können. Durch die Wahl des kleinen Maßstabs ist der Bedarf an Energie‐ und Ressourcen in der Entwicklungsphase gering. Zusätzlich verringert sich der Aufwand für Planung, Aufbau und Inbetriebnahme der Anlage erheblich im Vergleich zu einer größeren Pilotanlage im Technikums‐ oder Produktionsumfeld.

Viele Produkte aus der Feinchemie‐ und Pharmabranche weisen im Vergleich zu Basischemikalien hohe Schmelz‐ und Siedepunkte auf und zeichnen sich durch erhöhte thermische Empfindlichkeit aus. Im SMekT‐Projekt konzentriert sich daher die Apparateentwicklung auf kontinuierliche Kristallisation aus Lösung als schonendes Trennverfahren, sowie kontinuierliche Fest/Flüssig‐Trennung und kontinuierliche Wäsche von kristallinen Produkten. Die Laboranlage wird mit Apparaten aus produktionsnahen Werkstoffen, nicht‐invasiver Messtechnik und moderner Automatisierungstechnik ausgestattet. Unterstützt durch Simulationen und Bewertungstools für den Energie‐ und Materialaufwand soll es so zukünftig möglich sein, Ergebnisse aus der Laborphase direkt auf den Produktionsmaßstab übertragen zu können.

 

Mitglieder des SMeKt Projektteams

1409_Foto Projektgruppe SMekT

obere Reihe:      Fr. Löbnitz (KIT), Prof. Zang (HiTec Zang), Dr. Handl (DECHEMA)
mittlere Reihe:   Dr. Kusserow (HiTec Zang), Hr. Stier (Evonik), Prof. Kockmann (TU Dortmund),
                           Hr. Hohmann (TU Dortmund)
vordere Reihe:   Hr. Wiese (SONOTEC), Dr. Stenger (Evonik), Prof. Nirschl (KIT)

 

Projektstart         1. Januar 2014

Laufzeit               36 Monate